Writing Wednesday

HEY GAIS, welcome to a special late-night edition of Writing Wednesday, with your good friend Cypress.  Last time on Coming Up Cypress, I talked about how I was finally gonna get back into the swing of things and start posting more and writing more and getting up early and being a REAL HUMAN BEING THAT DOES SHIT AWWW YEAH.

 

Then, as evidenced by the lack of those things having happened, I promptly didn’t do those things.

 

It’s not that I didn’t WANT to post, didn’t WANT to write, didn’t WANT to be a real human being that does shit awww yeah – I DID want to!  I still want to!  I wanna be the very best like no one ever was.

 

Instead I was waking up about an hour before work, looking at some funny pictures on Imgur, and then showering and going to work.  Then, I’d come home and have dinner, look at more funny pictures on Imgur, maybe rub one out and then go to sleep with the intent of getting up the next day bright and early and accomplishing something.  Never happened.

 

I started to wonder why, and started to come up with excuses – posting here is HAAAARD, I need IDEAAAAAS!  Writing is HAAAAAARD, it’s been so long I need to go back and remind myself what I’ve been DOOOOINNG.  Waaaaaah wahhhhhhhhhhhh boo hoo.  It wasn’t until today that I kinda came to a realization.

 

I don’t know if i mentioned this in my last post, but I’ve been going to the gym the last couple months.  Not a ton, only once a week (fatty mode), but I figured that’s better than nothing.  This week, for the first time, I’ve gone twice.  Today was the second time.  And as I’m there, being harassed by my trainer not to quit because I’m the coolest (paraphrasing), for the first time I kinda didn’t feel like I was gonna die.  I walked out being glad that I went.  First time for everything.

 

I got in my car and I went “waaaaait a minute.  I’ve been avoiding this for years and making up excuses and hating every minute of it until this week when I expected to hate it the mostest…what changed?”  What changed is that I’ve been moving.  I’ve been exercising.  I’ve been getting stronger.  My body and my mind are becoming better at handling this set of tasks, taking to them more readily and recovering from them more quickly.

 

It’s the same motherfucking thing with writing.  Some people will say “your brain is a muscle, flex it!” or some bullshit, but the BRAIN IS AN ORGAN NOT A MUSCLE DON’T SPREAD YOUR LIES.  However, the sentiment is the same.  If you write regularly, you’ll be more productive and you’ll retain more and more of what you’ve been writing in your next session.  It’s been proven that regular mental activity will increase your mental acuity.  

 

That’s right, if you don’t use it, you’ll lose it.

 

When I was unemployed, I was writing damn near every day, and by the time I got a job, my work was really shaping up both here and in my novel.  My writing “muscle” (I feel a little sick just using the term BUT ITS THE EASIEST WAY TO MAKE THE POINT) was well-toned and ready for action.  Sure, I needed a little pick-me-up (read: Vyvanse) to get started, but the rest was all me baby.  I consider the ADD medication to be the equivalent of workout supplements like protein powder and other terrible things serial exercisers put in their bodies.

 

So what’s my point?  My point is that if you don’t write enough, you’ll eventually just stop writing altogether.  You’ll be the author equivalent of a couch potato, sitting at your laptop eating bonbons (or whateverthefuck) and reading fanfic or something going “MAN IN MY DAY I COULD HAVE WRITTEN LIKE THAT”

 

Don’t become the Al Bundy of writers.  Get typing, asshole.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers